Love

I sat in my seat….tried to act like I didn’t care.  I crossed my arms and stared deeply at my tattoo…studying it like I had never seen it before.  As much as I tried to tune it out, the speakers voice rang through my ears…and then in my heart.  “We are missionaries in Africa…in a small tribe”.  I tried to hold back tears.  My heart dropped to my stomach and again I felt completely burdened…completely heartbroken.  Many years ago the Lord put a HUGE passion in my heart to live AMONG the oppressed…the poor….the prostitutes but somehow I’ve lost sight of that.  I know in my heart eventually I will be in a 3rd world country…maybe for good….but just not yet.  Or is it?  In my mind, trying to be reasonable, I make up excuses as to why it’s not “my time” to go.  The more I think and pray about…and stop running from it the more my heart becomes enthralled and overwhelmed.

On a friends blog I just shared this verse…probably because it was already on my heart from today

Isaiah 61

1 The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me,
because the LORD has anointed me
to preach good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim freedom for the captives
and release from darkness for the prisoners, [a] 2 to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor
and the day of vengeance of our God,
to comfort all who mourn,

3 and provide for those who grieve in Zion—
to bestow on them a crown of beauty
instead of ashes,
the oil of gladness
instead of mourning,
and a garment of praise
instead of a spirit of despair.
They will be called oaks of righteousness,
a planting of the LORD
for the display of his splendor.

4 They will rebuild the ancient ruins
and restore the places long devastated;
they will renew the ruined cities
that have been devastated for generations.

Thank you Lord for confirming that you have put in me.  I know you have a specific desire and plan for me and I open myself to you…to Your will for my life.  Jesus, I want to be like you in not only the way I speak to others, but in how I love them.  Use me to love like you.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Love

  1. Wow! That was powerful. Thanks so much for sharing. Stay in that moment. God is lighting a fire in you that needs to burn hotter and hotter. The only way that will happen is to stay in that moment.

Leave a Reply

